Walking With The Father: The 5 Love Languages

February 1, 2020

The 5 Love Languages

The 5 Love Languages

By: Gary Chapman

Falling in love is such a wonderful experience, and when you make the commitment to marry the person you’re in love with – you want it to last forever. This book is an essential resource for everyone in a relationship, whether you’re married, or you just want to know more about yourself – this book will certainly help you improve the quality of your relationships.

In this book Chapman identifies 5 different criteria that he describes as “love languages.” These criteria are how we best receive love from other people. Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service, and Physical Touch are the 5 love languages he identifies. There is a simple questionnaire / assessment survey in the book that helps you identify which “love language” you are more sensitive to. With this tool, the description of each “love language,” and the many short stories of individuals and couples will help you improve the quality of your most important relationships, and understand yourself better.

I give this book to couples preparing for marriage, or for couples coming to me for counseling. It’s great for young people discerning to take their relationship to the next level, and for couples married many years looking to go deeper in their relationship. Why not read this book with your significant other, and see how you can grow closer together by identifying, and then speaking, your partner’s love language?